Another nationalist holiday, another year of war.

What can I say that others haven’t already said?

What can I write that wouldn’t be repeating the obvious?

Instead of the long rambling post I would typically write, I leave you with the following:

  • Iraq War Casualities: Visualizing the Dead. While this Google Earth layer excludes the civilian and enemy casualties, suggesting the priority of American dead, it fits with the tradition of Memorial Day to ignore all the death we’ve caused, lest that attention be at the expense of the soldiers from home who are also buried in the same Earth.

    click to enlarge

  • This visualization (now 5 years old, from the NYT) of just a few of the wartime dead.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

  • And what I consider the most important statistic of all:

click to enlarge

After nearly a decade in Afghanistan, years in Iraq, and as we move into Libya, is it really a “Happy” Memorial Day?

